Letter to my grandson (xxxi)

We have just started having storytelling times. It started when you dashed upstairs while I was reading I know a rhino and got into bed with all your soft toys and I told you stories. I stuck with the standards and Goldilocks and the three Bears is a favourite.

However, we were short of a couple of animals from I know a rhino,  in particular a rhino and dragon. But that can wait for Christmas.

In a stroke of pure genius your Nana bought you a dragon. He’s not your normal soft toy dragon but a real boy-sized Dragon.

DSC_1939.jpg

He has, naturally enough when you have grandparents who were alive in the 1960s, been christened Puff.

So Puff was added to the menagerie on your bed upstairs and we began a story that incorporated Puff and the other toys.

I’ve always wanted to be a storyteller and I’ve been gifted with a grandson who is a marvellous listener.

DSC_0382.jpg

So here’s the story:

Once upon a time, there was a little boy called Winton Jack and he lived in a house in the forest with his mum and dad and sometimes Nana and Papa came to visit.

Winton Jack had a lot of friends, Hippo, Lion, Monkey, Pig, Mrs Rabbit and Baby Rabbit, Giraffe, Teddy Bear and now Puff the Dragon.

One morning, when Winton Jack and his friend came down for breakfast, the porridge was too hot to eat.

“Let’s go for a walk in the woods while the porridge cools,” said Winton Jack to his friends. “Everybody has to hold hands.”

Winton Jack and his friends set off along the path through the woods. Very soon they came to a big river.

“Oh no,” said Winton Jack to his friends, “we can’t go over it, we can’t go under it, we’ll have to go through it.”

“I can’t go through it,” said the pig, “I can’t swim.”

“I can’t go through it,” said the Mrs Rabbit, “Baby Rabbit will get his fur all wet.”

“I can’t go through it,” said the Teddy bear, “the water is too cold.”

“Well,” said Puff, “I can fly across and everybody can have a ride on my back. But you will have to hold on very tight”

So Winton Jack climbed on the Dragon’s back and then Hippo, Lion, Monkey and Pig climbed on too.

“Uh Oh,” said Winton Jack, “no more room on the broom.”

“That’s okay,”  said Puff, “I can fly across and and come back for the others. Fasten your seat belts.”

So the Dragon spread his wings and flew up into the air with Winton Jack and Hippo, Lion, Monkey and Pig all holding on very tight.  When they reach the other side, everybody climbed off  and Puff flew back to get the other friends.

“You have to hold on very tight,” said Mrs Rabbit to Baby Rabbit. So Baby Rabbit held on very tight to Puff when he said, “Fasten your seat belts.”

Soon everybody was walking off down the path through the woods again. Very soon, they came to a great big tree which had fallen down across the path and was blocking the way.

“Oh no,” said Winton Jack to his friend, “we can’t go over it, we can’t go under it, we’ll have to go through it.”

“Well,” said Puff, “I can’t fly across because it is not enough room to spread my wings.”

“That’s okay,” said Winton Jack, ” I have got my great big fireman’s axe in my backpack and I can cut a big hole in the tree for us to walk through.”

So Winton Jack took out his big sharp fireman’s axe and went chop, chop, chop, chop until there was a big hole in the tree for all the friends to walk through.

“That was very good chopping,” said Lion, “you must have very big muscles.”

“Everybody hold hands now,” said Winton Jack, “we’re going off down the path again.” So the friends will set off down the path and very soon they came from big squishy swamp.

“Oh no,” said Winton Jack to his friend, “we can’t go over it, we can’t go under it, we’ll have to go through it.”

“I can’t go through it,” said the pig, “I’ll get my feet dirty.”

“I can’t go through it,” said the Mrs Rabbit, “Baby Rabbit has a runny nose.”

“I can’t go through it,” said the Teddy bear, “the water it’s too squishy for a bear.”

“Well,” said Puff, “I can fly across and everybody can have a ride on my back. But you will have to hold on very tight”

“I want to fly with Winton Jack,” said Teddy.

“So do I,” said Baby Rabbit.

“And so  do I,” said Giraffe.

So Winton Jack climbed on the Dragon’s back and then Teddy, Mrs Rabbit and Baby Rabbit and Giraffe all climbed on too.

“Uh Oh,” said Winton Jack, “no more room on the broom.”

“That’s okay,” said Puff, “I can fly across and and come back for the others. Fasten your seat belts.”

So the Dragon spread his wings and flew up into the air with Teddy, Mrs Rabbit and Baby Rabbit all holding on very tight.  When they reach the other side, everybody climbed off  and Puff flew back to get the other friends.

Soon everybody was ready to get going again so Winton Jack said, “Everybody hold hands, off we go.” It was a bit of pushing and shoving because everybody wanted to hold hands with the Dragon. So Winton Jack said “Dragon will walk at the end and make sure that everybody is holding hands and I will walk at the front.”

So they set off down the track with Winton Jack leading the way and soon it began to rain and just in time they came to  a big cave. Everybody crowded around Winton Jack.

“We can go in here and keep dry,” said Winton Jack.

“Oh,” said the Lion, “it looks very dark.”

“I don’t like the dark,” said Baby Rabbit.

“Come on,” said Winton Jack, “let’s go inside and have a look.”

“I”ve got a sore leg,” said the Monkey.

“I”ve got a sore throat,” said the Giraffe.

“I can’t see in the dark” said the Hippo.

“Neither can I,” said the Monkey.

“Well,” said the Dragon, “I’ve got a fire in my mouth and I can show the way but Winton Jack will have to come with me.”

“I can do that,” said brave Winton Jack.

So the Dragon lit the fire in his mouth to show the way and Winton Jack said, “Be brave everybody and hold hands.” So they all held hands and followed Winton Jack and the Dragon into the big dark cave.  When they were out of the rain, they all sat down.

“I’m hungry,” said Baby Rabbit, “I want my breakfast.”

“So do I,” said the Monkey.

“So do I,” said the Lion.

“So do I,” said the Hippo.

“It’s a long way back home, if you’ve got short legs,” said the Giraffe.

“I’ve got very short legs,”said Baby Rabbit, “but I wore my breakfast.” He gave a little sniffle.

Just then, there was a big noise at the back of the cave. ” Whoooo, whooo,”said a voice, “what are you doing in my cave?”

“We are waiting for the rain to stop,” said Winton Jack. “Who are you?”

” Whoooo, whooo,”said the voice, “I’m an owl.” And just in a great big owl came walking down to where Winton Jack and his friends were sitting.

“Everyone is very hungry and they want their breakfast but it’s a long way to get home,” said Winton Jack.

“I can fly some of the animal friends home on my back,” said Dragon.

“I can help too,” said the Owl, “can I stay for breakfast?”

“Yes,” said Winton Jack, “do you like porridge?”

“Porridge is my favourite breakfast,” said the Owl.

So Winton Jack and Lion, Hippo and Monkey climbed on Dragon’s back and Mrs Rabbit and Baby Rabbit, Teddy, Giraffe and Pig climbed on the Owl’s back.

“Fasten seatbelts,” said the Dragon.

“Fasten seatbelt,” said the Owl.

And they both flapped their wings and soared up into to the air and flew over the squishy swamp and the tree that had fallen down over the past and the river and soon they swooped down and landed at Winton Jack’s house.

“Let’s go in and have our porridge,” said Winton Jack.

So they all went inside and there was Winton Jack’s mum and all the porridge.

“Can we have some more porridge for Owl? asked Winton Jack.

“Of course you can,” said Winton Jack’s mum, “and who would like special brown sugar on their porridge?”

“We all would,” said Winton Jack and all the animals.

And when they had all finished their porridge, Winton Jack’s mother made them all Brown bread toast and honey.

Which made everybody especially Teddy very happy.

 

 

Leave a Reply

