Just got lucky in my choice of eye surgeons

Just back from eye surgery. Thanks for all the cards and flowers.
Surgeon removed the “buckle” (pictured) which had been floating behind and around my eye after being inserted to secure a detached retina some 15 years ago. My eye has been inflamed for a couple of years but has baffled my ex-opthamalogist.
Second opthamalogical opinion: “Well, I can tell you the cause of your problem, it’s sticking out around the corner of your eye. I could get you to lie down on the floor of the surgery and whip it out but you might like a local anaesthetic.”
Me: “So how did did the other ophthalmologist miss this for two years?”
Second opinion: “Good question.”

Leave a Reply

